Skip Navigation LinksHistory

Home > About > History

The History of Christ the King Parish

While the Catholic Church has a long history in Leechburg, Christ the King parish is relatively new.  It was canonically established in 1999 from the former Leechburg parishes; Assumption, St. Martha, St. Catherine and its Hyde Park mission, St. Francis.  Fr. Joseph Bonafed and Fr. Richard Mackiewicz were named co-pastors.  A year later, in the year 2000, Fr. Bonafed became the sole pastor.

With Fr. Bonafed's leadership, the parish consolidated.  At that time, the parish had three sites; the Second Street site, where we conducted celebrations of the Sacraments including the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass, Confession, Baptism, and Confirmation, and the Gilpin Township site, where we conducted religious education classes, programs, the parish festival, and meetings of parish organizations; and the St. Catherine Cemetery.

Fr. Joseph Trupkovich was appointed to the office of pastor in October of 2003.  A new church was realized.  The new worship space at the Gilpin Township site was dedicated on August 5, 2012 by Bishop Lawrence E. Brandt.  In December, 2013, parish office renovations at our new facility at Gilpin were completed, and on January 6, 2014, our new parish office was opened.

On February 12, 2014, Christ the King Church was partnered with St. Gertrude Church in Vandergrift.  With the partnering of our parishes, Fr. James Loew, O.S.B., pastor of St. Gertrude Church became our administrator.

In the year 2001, the diocese organized its parishes into Regions.  The Diocese of Greensburg currently has 10 Regions that are organized into 5 Deaneries.  Along with St. Gertrude Parish, Vandergrift, St. James the Greater Parish in Apollo, and Our Lady, Queen of Peace Parish in East Vandergrift, we make up Region 2, Deanery I of the Diocese of Greensburg.  Together we have worked to establish a regional identity conducting a variety of programs on the regional level.